Welcome to UCA's new events blog!

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Stravinsky's Magical Firebird @ Utah Symphony (SLC: April 16)

Description: us_logo.jpg

Media Contact:
Jon Miles | Vice President, Marketing & Public Relations
jmiles@usuo.org | (801)869-9021


SALT LAKE CITY – Russian folklore will soar in an upcoming Utah Symphony Family Series performance of one of Stravinsky’s classic ballet suite “The Firebird.” 

The Utah Symphony, led by Associate Conductor Vladimir Kulenovic, will present “The Magical Firebird,” Tuesday, April 16 at 7 p.m. in Abravanel Hall.  The fiery and exciting music will be enhanced by projections of visual images designed by artist Aleksander Pejcic. The program is intended to introduce youth to Stravinsky’s use of musical elements as Kulenovic dissects and reconstructs the popular piece for the audience.

The “Firebird” is a work of mixed and complex emotions for Stravinsky.  He revised the suite twice after its original premiere.  The piece helped Stravinsky gain his international fame with its positive reception from audiences across the globe, but initially he wasn’t too pleased with the work himself and referred to it as “the audience lollipop.” 

The music flows through a series of fantastical and supernatural moods exotic passages. One particular chromatic passage used in the piece also influenced Stravinsky’s infamous “Rite of Spring.” 

The story follows Prince Ivan as he journeys through an enchanted realm ruled by the cruel King Kastchei. Along the way he captures the elusive Firebird. In exchange for its freedom, the creature agrees to aid Ivan in saving his beloved princess from Kastchei’s grasp. The firebird bewitches the king and his minions making them dance the savage “infernal dance” which eventually puts the wicked men to sleep. Meanwhile, Prince Ivan destroys their source of power and rescues his princess in the triumphant finale of the suite.

Single tickets for the performances range from $8 to $12 and can be purchased by calling (801) 355-ARTS (2787), in person at the Abravanel hall ticket office (123 W. South Temple) or by visiting www.utahsymphony.org.  Season ticket holders and those desiring group discounts should call (801) 533- NOTE (6683).  All ticket prices are subject to change and availability.  Ticket prices will increase $2 when purchased on the day of the performance.   

About Aleksandar Pejcic, visual artist
Aleksandar Pejcic is from Belgrade, the capital city of Serbia. He is 32 years old and received his degree in graphic design in 1999.  In 2006, Pejcic received an advanced degree at the Polytechnic School, where he graduated from the Department of Graphic Design.  He now works as a freelance illustrator and has worked on books for children in elementary schools, comic designs and other various projects. 

Igor Stravinsky                          Suite from The Firebird (1919 revision)

I.              Introduction and Dance of the Firebird
II.             Dance of the Princesses
III.            Infernal Dance of King Kastchei
IV.           Berceuse
V.            Finale

No comments:

Post a Comment