Welcome to UCA's new events blog!

Tuesday, February 7, 2012


Media Contact:
Hilarie Ashton | Public Relations Manager
hashton@usuo.org | (801)869-9027


SALT LAKE CITY—Music Director Thierry Fischer and the Utah Symphony present Felix Mendelssohn’s wildly successful Violin Concerto and Anton Bruckner’s “Symphony No. 4 “Romantic.””

Dutch violinist Simone Lamsma, winner of the prestigious ‘HRH Princess Alice’s Prize’ and the ‘Louise Child Prize,’ will join them, soloing on the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto Friday, February 10 and Saturday, February 11 at 8 p.m. in Abravanel Hall. The program will also include “Fuga (Ricercata),” arranged by Anton von Webern and inspired by J.S. Bach’s Musical Offering.

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, the “perfect concerto,” is known today as one of the most frequently performed violin concertos of all time and perhaps the most plagiarized concerto in the history of music. It has also become an essential concerto for aspiring violinists to master, and is typically one of the first Romantic era concertos they learn.

Single tickets for the performances range from $17 to $58 and can be purchased by calling (801) 355-ARTS (2787), in person at the Abravanel Hall ticket office (123 W. South Temple) or by visiting www.utahsymphony.org. Discounted student tickets will be available on the date of the performance. Season ticket holders and those desiring group discounts should call (801) 533-NOTE (6683). All ticket prices are subject to change and availability. Ticket prices will increase $5 when purchased on the day of the performance.

Press photos available by logging in at http://www.utahsymphony.org/about/press-and-reviews/itemlist/category/35-media-kit. (Username: usuoimages, Password: media).

About Simone Lamsma, Violin
Dutch violinist Simone Lamsma has been described by conductor Jaap van Zweden as one of the leading violinists in the world. She is rapidly establishing herself as a much sought after soloist and recitalist performing with leading orchestras and conductors worldwide. This season, engagement highlights will include debuts with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (Walton/Luisi), Orchestre National de France (Bernstein Serenade/van Zweden), Lucerne Symphony (Khachaturian/Gaffigan), Utah Symphony (Mendelssohn/Thierry Fischer), Hong Kong Philharmonic (Britten/van Zweden), Copenhagen Philharmonic (Bernstein Serenade/Mandeal), and São Paolo Symphony (Shostakovich 1/Tortelier). Return engagements include performing twice with the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic (Gubaidulina 2/de Leeuw and Korngold/Gaffigan), Dallas Symphony (Mendelssohn/van Zweden), Bournemouth Symphony (Beethoven/Karabits) and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic (Bruch and Shostakovich 1/Shelley).

Recent season successes included performances with the Orchestra Suisse Romande (Shostakovich 1/ Janowski), St Louis Symphony (Shostakovich 1/van Zweden), Seoul Philharmonic (Shostakovich 1/Gaffigan), National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra (Beethoven/Tortelier), Netherlands Radio Philharmonic (Britten/van Zweden and Szymanowksi/Segerstam), Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic (Mendelssohn/van Zweden), Rotterdam Philharmonic (Sibelius/Valcuha and Ravel Tzigane & Massenet Meditation/Nezet-Seguin), Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra (Elgar/Hill and Shostakovich 1/Tortelier), and the Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra (play/direct Vivaldi’s Four Seasons).

In the USA, Lamsma made her debut with the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra in 2009 and since then has performed regularly throughout the States. Engagement highlights include regular appearances with the Dallas Symphony where she will return for the third time this season, St Louis Symphony (Shostakovich 1/van Zweden) and the Utah Symphony (Mendelssohn/Fischer).

Lamsma started her violin studies at the age of 5 in The Netherlands, and moved to the UK aged 11 to study at the Yehudi Menuhin School with Professor Hu Kun and the Royal Academy of Music in London with Professor Maurice Hasson. As the youngest student ever to enter the Royal Academy of Music’s Bachelor of Music program, Lamsma graduated from the Royal Academy aged 19 with first class honours and several prestigious awards. In 2011, she was made an Associate of the RAM, an honour given to those students who have made significant and distinguished contributions to their field.

Lamsma plays the “ex Chanot-Chardon” Stradivarius (labelled Cremona 1718), on generous loan to her by an anonymous benefactor. Simone Lamsma’s official website is www.simonelamsma.com

Anton von Webern
"Fuga (Ricercata)"  from Musical Offering by J. S. Bach

Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto in E minor for Violin and Orchestra, Opus 64
I.  Allegro molto appassionato
II.  Andante
III.  Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace
Simone Lamsma, Violin


Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 4, "Romantic" (Haas)
Bewegt: nicht zu schnell
Andante, quasi allegretto
Scherzo: bewegt - Trio
Finale: Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell


Hilarie Ashton
Public Relations Manager
801.869.9027 office
801.335.9387 cell

No comments:

Post a Comment