Welcome to UCA's new events blog!

Friday, February 15, 2013


Media Contact:
Hilarie Ashton | Public Relations Manager
hashton@usuo.org | (801)869-9027


SALT LAKE CITY— The Utah Symphony and Music Director Thierry Fischer will conclude a season-long performance cycle of Felix Mendelssohn’s five symphonies with a concert featuring the first and last symphonies by the composer.  

Along with Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 1 and Symphony No. 5 “Reformation,” the orchestra will feature Utah Symphony Principal Bass David Yavornitzky soloing on “Double Bass Concerto” by Hans Werner Henze, February 22 and 23 at 8 p.m. in Abravanel Hall. 

Like many of the world’s most famous composers, Mendelssohn is considered by many to have been a child prodigy. His first symphony was completed at age 15, following prior completion of dozens of smaller symphonic works. He first presented Symphony No. 1 to his teacher and mentor, Carl Zelter, who was impressed by the young apprentice’s growth and promise. 

Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 1 displays musical elements from composers like Bach, Mozart and Beethoven. These influences are reflected in the style, structure and counterpoint of the piece, and provide a foundation for which Mendelssohn later developed his own artistic voice.

While composing his Symphony No. 5 “Reformation,” Mendelssohn had the 300th anniversary of the Lutheran Augsburg Confession in mind.  He worked through an illness to finish it before the commemoration. To his dismay, the commemoration never occurred due to political unrest in Europe, but the piece was still set to premiere in Berlin a few years later. Unfortunately, Mendelssohn this time withdrew the piece as he felt it wasn’t good enough, and the symphony wasn’t published until after his death. The final movement features the well-known hymn, “A Mighty Fortress is our God.” 

The performance of modern composer Hans Werner Henze’s “Double Bass Concerto” will be a Utah Symphony premiere.  Henze was a German composer who moved and composed in Italy after political disruption.  His works are varied and display influences of neo-classicism, serialism, atonalism, and some jazz and rock.  

Fischer and Toby Tolokan, Utah Symphony Vice President of Artistic Planning, will present a free pre-concert chat each night, one hour prior to the start of the performance on the orchestra level of Abravanel Hall.

Single tickets for the performances range from $18 to $53 and can be purchased by calling (801) 355 ARTS (2787), in person at the Abravanel hall ticket office (123 W. South Temple) or by visitingwww.utahsymphony.org. Season ticket holders and those desiring group discounts should call (801) 533- NOTE (6683).  All ticket prices are subject to change and availability.  Ticket prices will increase $5 when purchased on the day of the performance. 

David Yavornitzky, Utah Symphony Principal Bassist
Principal Bassist of the Utah Symphony since 1988, David Yavornitzky has performed as concerto soloist, participated in U.S. and International tours, and has collaborated with many of the world's finest conductors and guest artists. David also holds the position of Professor of Double Bass at the University of Utah, where he maintains an active teaching studio. Several of his students have won statewide and national solo double bass competitions.  He is a tireless proponent of contemporary music, having had compositions written for him, as well as having given important premieres of contemporary works. As a conductor, David has led many diverse ensembles, including area youth, collegiate and professional orchestras, and he has conducted several Utah premieres of contemporary works with the Nova Chamber Music Series. In 200-10 David was appointed to the position of Cover Conductor for the Utah Symphony's educational programs.
David attended Baldwin-Wallace College and Conservatory, where he earned degrees in both musical performance and in theoretical physics. His double bass teachers include the late Anthony Knight of the Cleveland Orchestra and Edwin Barker, Principal Bass of the Boston Symphony.  He is an alumnus of the Tanglewood Music Center Fellowship program and was awarded its C.D. Jackson prize for outstanding achievement.

Felix Mendelssohn
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, op. 11
I.  Allegro di molto
II.  Andante
III.  Menuetto: Allegro molto
IV.  Allegro con fuoco
Hans Werner Henze
Concerto per contrabbasso (1966)
I. Moderato cantabile
II. Vivace
(Cadenzas HW Henze) III. Ciacona
David Yavornitzky, Contrabass


Felix Mendelssohn
Symphony No. 5 in D Major, op. 107, "Reformation"
I. Andante - Allegro con fuoco
II. Allegro vivace
III. Andante
IV. Chorale: Andante con moto - Allegro vivace

Hilarie Ashton
Public Relations Manager
Utah Symphony | Utah Opera
(801) 869-9027 office
(801) 656-7385 cell

No comments:

Post a Comment