Welcome to UCA's new events blog!

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Annual Utah Book Award Winners Announced @ SLC Public Library & Utah Humanities Council


Media Contact:

Julianne Hancock
m: 801.819.3763
e: jhancock@slcpl.org

Annual Utah Book Award Winners Announced
October 16, 2011 – Salt Lake City – The Salt Lake City Public Library and the Utah Humanities Council today announced the winners of the 11th annual Utah Book Award.

The winners by category are:

Fiction - Gerald Elias for Danse Macabre
Nonfiction - Steven R. Simms for Traces of Fremont
Poetry - Shawn Fawson for Giving Way
Young Adult - Kiersten White for Paranormalcy
Children - Shannon Hale and Dean Hale for Calamity Jack

The winners were honored at an event at the Kim T. Adamson Alumni House on the Westminster College campus.

The public is invited to attend events where the winners will read from their works. Winners and finalists in the poetry, fiction and nonfiction categories will read on Wednesday, October 19 at 7 p.m. at The City Library on Level 4, in conjunction with City Art. Young Adult and Children’s winners and finalists will read on Saturday, October 22 at 12:30 p.m. in the Canteena on Level 2.

The Utah Book Award is administered by the Salt Lake City Public Library and presented with the Utah Humanities Council, the home of Utah Center for the Book, with financial support provided by the Smith-Pettit Foundation.


No comments:

Post a Comment